I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Emergency Operations Centers

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department Of Homeland Security
CFDA #: 97.052

Assistance considerations...

Length and Time Phasing of Assistance

Grants are awarded for the total dollar amount, but the release of funds is on an as needed basis. The initial performance period for non-construction grants is ordinarily one year. Longer or shorter performance periods may be negotiated depending on needs of the grantees and national program management requirements. Performance periods for EOC Phase 2 grants will be negotiated based on the requirements of each project. States are required to initiate requests for funds as close as administratively feasible to the actual disbursements for program costs.

Formula and Matching Requirements

The funds for EOCs will be awarded in two phases. Each State will be allocated a $50,000 Phase 1 grant, which is targeted for an initial assessment of the hazards, vulnerabilities, and resultant risk to an existing EOC. Phase 1 EOC activity will be 100 percent federally funded and will require no cost share. Phase 2 EOC grants will be awarded as project grants to address the most immediate EOC deficiencies nationwide. The Phase 2 EOC grants will require a 50 percent non-Federal cost share.

A formula may be based on population, per capita income, and other statistical factors. Applicants are informed whether there are any matching requirements to be met when participating in the cost of a project. In general, the matching share represents that portion of the project costs not borne by the Federal government. Attachment F of OMB Circular No. A-102 (Office of Management and Budget) sets forth the criteria and procedures for the evaluation of matching share requirements which may be cash or in-kind contributions made by State and local governments or other agencies, institutions, private organizations, or individuals to satisfy matching requirements of Federal grants or loans.

Cash contributions represent the grantees' cash outlay, including the outlay of money contributed to the grantee by other public agencies, institutions, private organizations, or individuals. When authorized by Federal regulation, Federal funds received from other grants may be considered as the grantees' cash contribution.

In-kind contributions represent the value of noncash contributions provided by the grantee, other public agencies and institutions, private organizations or individuals. In-kind contributions may consist of charges for real property and equipment, and value of goods and services directly benefiting and specifically identifiable to the grant program. When authorized by Federal legislation, property purchased with Federal funds may be considered as grantees' in-kind contribution.

Maintenance of effort (MOE) is a requirement contained in certain legislation, regulations, or administrative policies stating that a grantee must maintain a specified level of financial effort in a specific area in order to receive Federal grant funds, and that the Federal grant funds may be used only to supplement, not supplant, the level of grantee funds.